Male reproductive system 1

The parts of the male reproductive system.

Sperm (spermatazoa) are produced in the testes.
The two testes are located in the scrotal sac. The temperature in the scrotum is below body temperature because sperm production is inhibited by body temperature.

The testes are composed of many fine, coiled seminiforous tubules. (Total length 500 metres) These, in turn lead to the epididymes where sperm are stored.
The epididymes lead into the sperm ducts.
The sperm ducts link up with the urinary tract to form the urethra.

The prostate gland and Cowpers glands add secretions (mainly nutrients) to the sperm during ejaculation.